Gah. Small update.

Posted: January 29, 2012 in CNC
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ok all, there comes a time when you just have to admit defeat.  I’m getting tired of doing everything the hard way, and I’ve decided that it’s time to go ahead and get non-diy stuff now. I’ve been tinkering with my non-working mill for a while now, and i’m just downright tired of not being able to cut any parts out. (or even move the mill with my computer lol) 

At the last update, you saw pictures of my “kind of” assembled CNC. No where near complete, I had everything sort of mocked up. Well, due to an oversight on my part, I should have had the parts cut from .5″ plywood, but i had it cut with .75″ thick stuff. Doesn’t appear to be a big deal, but it’s amazing how an extra 1/4″ of thickness really messes up a design. 

So this brings me to my next thing.

I am going to buy this machine,

http://microcarve.com/mcMV1.html (Microcarve MV3) ($549.00) 

along with this Ready to run CNC 3 axis kit

3-Axis ProboStep Stepper Motor Driver Kit ($404.95)

And eventually once I break or wear out my Dremel 300, 

http://www.wolfgangengineering.com/Home.php (TB650 complete package) $289.00

So I know it seems like alot of cash out, but i’m basically putting together a kit that will be almost plug -n-play.  

 

Since no parts have been ordered yet, my total cost remains the same. More updates soon. 

Leave a Reply

